The International Federation of Bisexual Shadow Boxers is born
12.23.2002

As promised, I have spent the morning filing articles of incorporation and applying for charitable status in order to birth the International Federation of Bisexual Shadow Boxers (IFBSB). I need a business plan, a mandate, a slogan, a logo, a set of sparring guidelines, and much more. I've quickly thrown a package together, and this will have to do for now. This being the holiday season, I'm short on prep time. At the moment, I'm awaiting my first christmas dinner with a family member in over a decade. My elder sister invited me to see her home and family tomorrow evening. Since I think it wise to conduct the proper research before eating anyone's food, I've hired a private dick to snap revealing pics of their pantry while I scrub and press myself. Said pressing is absolutely essential to ensure that all remaining leakage is properly drained from within me. Post-surgical slip-ups from an errant sneeze or overly exuberant back-slapping could otherwise result, and that's not something anyone wants to mix with turkey and cranberry jelly.

I hadn't expected the formation of the IFBSB to be quite so unwieldy. There have been snags.

First, the name. I am stuck with it, I'm afraid, and that should serve as ample warning to all of you not to create international incidents via idle chatter. As acronyms go, there may be something of note to be found in the cryptic yet poignant message "If BS be...", so perhaps the name's not a total wash. I've also tossed around possible shortform endearments for the organisation. "Interfed Bi Box" is one to consider. Or perhaps "ACDC Shadow Jab".

Then there's the weight category issue. I wouldn't want to contribute even further to crass stereotypes and unfair gravitational discrimination, and if it weren't for my initial mention of internal liquid storage to reach heavyweight status (see above re: ample warning) I would abandon the whole idea. Therefore, I've decided to make weighings-in optional, along with spigot attachment for the above-noted liquid storage. This seems only appropriate, since the size of a fighter will always far outweigh that of his or her lightless opponent, regardless of sickeningly tiny waist measurements, planetary atmosphere, or scale accuracy (we all know how those Toledo bastards lie).

These sorts of federations always catch on best with spiffy uniforms, so the required dress code shall be lam�. Gold is preferred, but multihued lam� will be grudgingly accepted. Boas optional. Stop bitching that the fabric doesn't breathe; you're boxing thin air. Just what kind of sweat are you workng up, anyway?

Sparring guidelines: either natural sunlight or halogen lighting preferred for shadow production. Shadow boxing walls may be indoor or outdoor structures, but stucco is strictly prohibited. Aluminium siding shall only be allowed during exhibition matches. No physical contact with wall allowed. Tripping on one's boa and falling into said wall will be overlooked on first offense; however, all subsequent trips & falls shall be punishable by 5 demerit points and boa confiscation.

Application to the IFBSB shall be open to the public, free of charge. However, by no later than 2 weeks after presentation of approved federation uniform, proof of bisexuality must be provided to Candi and Biff, the IFBSB applicant screening officials.

For marketing purposes, it's imperative I have a slogan, a catchphrase, a motto to roll trippingly from members' bisexual tongues. Being tired, sore, and cranky, I've only managed to come up with one myself, whereas others were kindly provided by family members I've accosted. A final decision has yet to be made, but the shortlist presently contains the following:

1. No, this is not a pee dance.
2. If BS be... or not to be, that is the question.
3. You'd be scratching yourself too if you wore lam� for 6 days straight.
4. Fuck Tai Bo.

All other sloganly suggestions are gladly accepted. Feel free to post them in Smoog's Notes.

Last, I need a logo. Sadly, my graphic design software is woefully limited at the moment. Although I could likely whip something up, it would neither have the flare nor the professional impact needed for the organisation to thrive and grow. Therefore, I hereby officially announce the Grand Opening IFBSB Logo Competition! The logo should be easily compressed both in physical and file size, in either JPEG or GIF format. Submissions should be sent by email to [email protected]. Final judging shall be administered by myself, Smoog. The winning entry shall have their work proudly displayed on the final IFBSB official mandate page to be created... well, whenever I decide on a logo I like, along with a link to the winning entrant's diary should they have one and my eternal gratitude.

Drum roll please! I hereby declare the International Federation of Bisexual Shadow Boxing officially swinging both ways -- or just going through a stage of temporary confusion, whichever.


make idle gossip (0 comments so far)

come hither - back off


Last 5 entries:
01.14.2007:Finally, a support group we can all get behind
01.09.2007:The City That Ever Reeks
01.08.2007:Waiter, there's a uterus in my soup
01.03.2007:Long Lost Mummy of Nefertiti Found in Smoog's Apartment
12.30.2006:New Year's resolutions we can actually keep



Hosted by Diaryland

� 2002-2007
Latest Entry
Older Entries
Random Entry
Smoog's Bio
Smoog's Profile
The Many Eyes of Smoog
Email Smoog
Smoog's Guestbook

My RSS feed:


Want to be notified of new entries? Then gimme your email or I'll shoot!



Interesting blog stuff:
Rick Mercer
Tomato Nation
Dooce
The Rik Files
Miss Snark
Scavella's Blogsphere
Leebo Zeebo
Wingtips
Surroundings
Words For My Enjoyment
Stucking Fupid
TranceJen
GolfWidow
biensoul
bluemeany
cuppajoe
haloaskew
heidiann
hissandtell
juddhole
ann-frank
groovy-decay
kungfukitten
luvabeans
madamepierce
marn
not-a-finger
porktornado
chickie-legs
reynedecoupe
smartypants
fuzzy-grey
twelvebeer
unclebob
weetabix




Make Smoog feel special.

Cavort 'til something falls off!
Oooh, beer.
Globe of Blogs
Blogarama - The Blog Directory


Blog Flux Directory

Humor Blog Top Sites
stumbleupon toolbar

Rate Me on BlogHop.com!
the best pretty good okay pretty bad the worst help?